Trucking company

Eight counties in Montana designated as top natural disaster areas | Top story

HELENA, Mont. – The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated eight counties in Montana as major natural disaster areas.

According to the USDA, the US Drought Monitor reports that counties suffered a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 consecutive weeks or more or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Due to the natural disaster designation, the USDA Farm Service Agency may provide emergency credit to growers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

“Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm or refinancing certain debts,” says one. USDA release. “The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available security, and repayment capacity.”

The main eligible counties are Carbon County, Madison County, Stillwater County, Treasure County, Gallatin County, Park County, Sweet Grass County and Yellowstone County.

Contiguous counties also eligible for Montana include Beaverhead County, Broadwater County, Jefferson County, Musselshell County, Silver Bow County, Big Horn County, Golden Valley County, Meagher County , Rosebud County and Wheat Land County.

Fremont County in Idaho as well as Big Horn, Park and Teton counties in Wyoming are also eligible contiguous counties.

You can use the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, the Disaster at-a-glance fact sheet and the Agricultural Loan Discovery Tool to to determine program or loan options.

To file a loss notice or to ask questions about available programs, contact your USDA Service Center.

Source link